Movember poetry challenge – Days 25 and 26

Day 25 – Probability

The odds were never in his favour,
And he suspected as much
As he watched the winged rats
Peck on no-longer-his pepperoni pizza
That the wind swept away from his lap.

They were swallowing it all:
Bread,
Cheese,
Chilli flakes,
Processed meat.

He was watching with disgust and fascination
As a colourless sparrow hopped into the middle of the action
And stole a big piece from the slower giants.

That food has got to be the end of them,
And yet they can’t help themselves,
Mindless and driven by an outdated instinct.
They can’t fight the temptation.
Hell, they don’t even know that’s temptation.

The odds were in their favour, so
No one would remove them from it either.

Day 26 – Metrics

Sometimes it’s tough to know
If your score
Is your personal best
Or personal worst:

I’ve pulled my own tooth.

I saw seven disturbing dreams about being unprepared in rapid succession.

I contained my laughter in a crowded elevator.

I only cried a little bit at the movies.

My own worst fears left me unmoved.

Leave a Reply

