September poetry challenge – Days 15 and 16

Day 15 – A job interview

“Hey let’s play a game!
Let’s play truth or dare!”,
Said the cute creature
After one too many
Rum-and-diets.

Well, why the hell not,
Let’s play truth or dare…
People play this game
When they are quite drunk.
Or horny. Or both.

Fair enough, he though.
At least it’s playing,
And not living it.

Day 16 – Necessary clarifications

Tidal waves are controlled
By the pull of the Moon*,

As once was my fear of
My own reflection in
Mirror-like surfaces
When I was a small child.

It used to pull me in,
On schedule, after dark,
Pale and glowing and cold.

Howling at my own face
Like a dead demon-dog,

I was never able
To recognize myself.
A clarification:
I never wanted to

Acknowledge that it was
My own face that scared me
Like a dead demon-dog.

Tides will always be caused
By the pull of the Moon,

And so happens to be
The fear of my own pale,
Listlessly glowing face.
A clarification:

The fear of what controls
The shadows on that thing.

*Tides are the rise and fall of sea levels caused by the combined effects of the gravitational forces exerted by the Moon and the Sun and the rotation of the Earth (Wikipedia)

Leave a Reply

