Poem – A Nice Dream

Image

I saw something similar to this picture in a dream the other night. Though uneventful, the dream felt hyper-realistic, violently vivid. I cannot shake the memory of this dream away.

I was looking ahead

I was waiting to see

An old city of brick.

Yet what I saw instead

Was an ocean of trees

Naked and dead and slick.

The city still stood there.

I could see it peek through

The tangle of branches.

I continued to stare

At the dried-up sinews,

As if caught in a trance.

The sound was piercing

Acutely through my ears.

The sound belonged to

A swarm of birds shrieking.

They echoed through the air.

Each note splitting in two.

Looking from a distance

This forest looked alive –

Unsettling movement

Of birds was persistent.

Buzzing like a beehive.

A breathing ornament.

I came a bit closer.

My curious nature

Was looking at details –

At birds,  a bit closer.

At once the whole picture

Darted into the air.

The birds started fleeing.

Their violent motion

Was forcing me down. I

clung to the ground, fearing,

Caught in the commotion,

Feeling the air brush by.

They were too close to me.

Their beaks could break apart

My flesh in an instant.

They were too close to me.

Suddenly they depart.

Far away and distant.

Now I’m looking ahead

I am waiting to see

An old city of brick.

Yet I still see instead

The same ocean of trees

Naked and dead and slick.

The city is standing.

Still unchanged, peeking through

The thick tangle of branches.

And now I start crawling

Through the dried-up sinews.

This story never changes.

Leave a Reply

